Skip to content

New Executive Producer Named At Frontline, Wgbh’s Iconic Investigative Series

WGBH President Jonathan Abbott today announced that Raney Aronson-Rath will become the new Executive Producer of FRONTLINE, succeeding David Fanning, who is stepping away from the award-winning investigative documentary series after three decades. Aronson-Rath, a leading voice on narrative journalism and visual storytelling, has been with FRONTLINE since 2001 and was named Deputy Executive Producer in 2012.
Fanning has served as FRONTLINE’s Executive Producer since founding the series in 1983. Under his leadership over the past 33 seasons, FRONTLINE has built a reputation for powerful investigative storytelling that tackles the toughest, most controversial and complex stories of our times.

The series has won every major award in broadcast journalism: 69 Emmys, including a special Emmy Award for excellence in documentary filmmaking; 31 duPont-Columbia University Awards; 17 Peabody Awards; and 15 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards; eight Television Critics Awards; and eight Banff Television Awards.

Fanning was personally honored with a Lifetime Achievement Emmy Award in 2013. He plans to remain with WGBH and FRONTLINE, return to filmmaking, and develop new film projects as an executive producer at large, beginning June 1…

Originally posted on

Read @ PBS