Diane Sierpina joined The Tow Foundation in 1998 and currently serves as a program director. Prior to joining the Foundation, Diane was a newspaper and magazine journalist covering government, politics, and social issues. Diane is primarily responsible for the Foundation’s criminal justice reform strategy and investments, which average more than $5 million a year.

Diane has been an advocate of evidence-based, youth-centered justice system reform in Connecticut, New York and nationally for more than 20 years. She holds leadership roles with Connecticut Justice Alliance, Strengthening Organizing Work in Connecticut (SOW) Funders Group, New York Youth Justice Initiative, Justice Reform Working Group of Philanthropy New York, and Youth Transition Funders Group (YTFG). Diane is a steering committee member of YTFG, board member of Connecticut Council for Philanthropy (CCP) and was a founding chair of CCP’s Program Officers Network.  In May 2017, Diane was honored by her peers with CCP’s Martha S. Newman Award in recognition of her exemplary service to the philanthropic sector in the state.

Diane earned a B.S. in journalism summa cum laude from Boston University.